Sri lanka

Sigiriya Rock Fortress

Sigiriya Rock Fortress

The Sigiriya rock fortress was built by king Kashyapa in 477 Century, called ‘Fortress in the sky”. King Kashyapa assassinated his father, named king Dhatusena and seized throne and shifted the kingdom from traditional capital, Anuradhapura to Sigiriya, fearing an attack from his brother Moggallana. Sigiriya rock fortress gives majestic appearance which was a kingdom for a period of 18 years. It is also known as “Lion Rock” because of the huge lion that used to stand at the entrance to the fortress.

On the summit, there is a great and sumptuous palace and garden complete with swimming pool. One of the stairways leads to the art gallery of 1500 years old. It is work of ancient Sinhalese secular painting survived in the form of frescoes, Those are life size damsels in all the freshness and delicacy of their original colour. Sigiriya is world heritage site declared by UNESCO